9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2006 3:17 PM by Newsgroup_User

Need help creating drop menus - DMennenoh?

Level 7
      Hi there, I'm pretty new to Action script - I'm trying to build a series
      of buttons with drop menus - I've built a movie clip button then within
      the movie clip button on the "over" frame I have the menu button which
      is also a movieclip button.

So obviously what I want to happen is.... when the main button is rolled
      over, the menu buttons appear and rollover effects happen as they should.

I've got the following action script in the first frame of the main timeline

profile_mc.onRollOver=function(){profile_mc.gotoAndStop("over");}
      profile_mc.onRollOut=function(){profile_mc.gotoAndStop("up");}

That works fine... it's THAT over state that the menu button appears...
      But it doesn't seem to matter what I do how I add the directional script
      the actions of the button won't work. Can anyone help me with where I'm
      going wrong?

profie_mc is the instance of the button with the menu attached...

Here is the URL for the fla file (FlashMX)
      http://artnsoulgraphicdesign.com/testNEW_29-05-06.fla

I want to create something similar to http://www.blurredistinction.com/
      I don't necessaruily need the sliding part... just to appear and to
      rollover would be great. I've been at this for at least 3 weeks so far
      and it's driving me nuts... if I can figure out how to do one then the
      rest should just fall in....

Many thanks for any assistance received.

Kind regards
      Piers Le Sueur
        • 1. Re: Need help creating drop menus - DMennenoh?
          Craig Grummitt Level 3
          Afraid once a parent(eg profile_mc) has a button event handler (eg onRollOver), any children (eg profile_mc.testplay_mc) don't get notified of any button events.