3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2016 11:47 AM by trshaner

Equal color from multiple cameras

dnphotoca

I am a wedding photographer and we are shooting D810 and D800's.  When we finish a shoot, we bring the images back to lightroom and experience different color rendition after import from the different cameras shot in the same locations with the same settings.  What I'm wondering is if there is a way to use camera calibration to force the images from the different cameras to look the same after import.  Equalizing the colors would certainly make the post processing easier and more efficient.  Any input or suggestions would be appreciated. 

Cheers

• 1. Re: Equal color from multiple cameras
          Theresa J Adobe Community Professional

I recommend creating custom camera profiles for each camera and each lens. X-rite makes a color chip called 'Passport'. It comes with calibration software. Photograph the passport under the same lighting conditions for each camera and create a profile for each. You can create a develop preset in Lightroom for each profile and then apply this preset on import. This should help get your images more consistent with each other.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Equal color from multiple cameras
            ManiacJoe Adobe Community Professional

Theresa has you pointed in the right direction.

Each camera model uses a slightly different color algorithm as the camera engineers keep tweaking things.

• 3. Re: Equal color from multiple cameras
              trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP