12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2009 9:57 AM by Ned Murphy

Button within a movieclip

youngjon
      Hi all,

I am relatively new to Flash and am looking for help with a file I am working on.

I have created a movieclip of an area which is placed so that only the outer right edge is on the stage. When the mouse hovers over the area, it moves onto the stage and reveals menu options. It works beautifully as an animation, and the menu options (which have over, down, and hit states) work when not part of this movieclip, but when I place instances of the buttons within the tweened movieclip, they no longer work.

I have been scouring the web for answers and most people say that you cannot have a rollover within a rollover as the first rollover (in my case, the movieclip) is still active.

I have seen this work with various files in flashden for example where the menu slides out from the side and then slides back in when you 'roll off' but while you are 'rolled on' you have access to menu options which all perform their own roll on/off movies.

Hopefully there is a simple answer!

Thanks in advance.

J.
        • 1. Re: Button within a movieclip
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          It's not a simple solution, but not a difficult one either.

You need to make the background of the movieclip be the part that has the rollover effect (make the bg an mc as well to accomplish this). And make the buttons participate in the holding of the rollout as well, otherwise, when you hover a button you unhover the background and it will rollback, probably bouncing back and forth as you hit different pieces of the overall mc.
          • 2. Re: Button within a movieclip
            youngjon Level 1
            Thanks for your response.

Would I do this by adding an invisible button? Right now I have the following code in the Actions for the movieclip:

on (rollOver) {
            gotoAndPlay("over");
            }
            on (rollOut) {