4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2016 5:07 PM by TᴀW

Help With Custom Footnotes Layout

ThomasMoreCenter

Hi!  I am working on a layout design for an academic volume.  I am an InDesign novice and have gotten a bit stumped by the footnote layout my boss would like.

The link is a PDF of the exact design that he wants.  I created this design using text boxes and superscript characters; those aren't "real" footnotes.   I have been playing with the Footnote Formatting menu, but I can't figure out how to replicate it.  Is it possible to get three columns across the bottom, like in this sample?

I am asking because the volume is over 1.5k pages long, and will have probably 10-20k footnotes.  Adding them in manually is going to take a million paid man-hours.  Any ideas for shortcuts?  (I am copying over text from a Word Doc that contains functioning footnotes.)

Link to current mock-up:  Life of Pico Sample 6-9-2016 PDF

Thank you in advance for your time.

• 1. Re: Help With Custom Footnotes Layout
          TᴀW Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi,

It is not currently possible to get multiple-column footnotes in InDesign natively.

If you're looking for a shortcut, and don't mind paying, check out our Footwork add-on, which can definitely automate the layout you're looking for:

http://www.id-extras.com/products/footwork

It's not free, and has a small learning curve, but for the quantity of pages and footnotes you're talking about, it's worth looking into.

There is a demo version for download, and I'd be happy to help you set up a test document.

Ariel

2 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Help With Custom Footnotes Layout
            ThomasMoreCenter Level 1

Thank you!  I will talk to my boss and get back to you. 

• 3. Re: Help With Custom Footnotes Layout
              ThomasMoreCenter Level 1

@TaW:  I think we would like to look into this option.  I can download the demo, and would appreciate some assistance setting up a test document.