1 Reply Latest reply on Jun 9, 2016 6:13 PM by JFPhoton

yep, another disk setup thread

I just bought a 2008 Mac Pro that I'm trying to maximize for my usage as a new editor. I'm a videographer and will be editing 4k footage from of my GH4, basic timelines with some warp stabilization. This is the equipment I have:

CPU     2 x 3.2GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon

GPU     AMD Radeon HD 7970 3GB VRAM

RAM     64GB DDR2 667 MHz

HD:      1 x 240GB SSD

2x 2TB 7200rpm HDD

2x 1TB 7200rpm HDD

(above all SATA 2, 3Gb/s)

2x 5TB USB 3 external HHD

I'd like to have one each for OS/apps, media/projects, backup, then some combination of previews/cache/exports on the rest.

I was thinking I would set up the SSD as my boot drive/OS/apps, and the two 1TBs as RAID 0, either for media/projects or previews/cache/exports.

Is it faster to use one of my USB 3 external drives or two of my internals as RAID 0?

What should I use each drive for?

Should I get a 6Gb/s PCIe 2.0 host adapter for my SSD?

Any comments on the rest of my equipment? Potential bottlenecking?

Thanks in advance for your help!

• 1. Re: yep, another disk setup thread
          JFPhoton Level 3

I am sure you understand that your machine is very old now, in terms of what most people currently are using to edit, and that trying to edit 4K smoothly may present a problem no matter what you do. However, there are "tweaks" you can do to insure that you are getting the maximum performance with the hardware you have.