12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2016 5:17 AM by rob day

BOOK PDF spreads_almost works

Fran7201

I am using the BOOK function for the first time, though I am a veteran (15+ years) user of InDesign. I have successfully set up the sections, each as a separate, multi-page document. Everything is working beautifully, except when I go to create a PDF intended to allow the user to print in spreads. (The SPREADs box is checked.) And while the inner pages of each document export as spreads, a section that ends with an even page number (left-hand page) does not combine as a spread with the first page of the next section (right-hand page). The result is lots of successful spreads, but with several single pages in between some sections—but only where sections end on an even-numbered page and another begins with an odd-numbered page. Is it possible to get these two pages from the different sections to connect as one spread so that the final document is one continuous book of spreads throughout?

Here are the specs I set up for each document/section:

1. Page numbering is set for each document to begin where the previous section left off.
      2. No chapter numbering on any document.
      3. No variable text in any document.
      4. 500 pages total.
      5. I am using the PDF from BOOK function in the BOOK flyout menu.
      6. Again, SPREADS is checked and am exporting for a PRINT PDF.

I thought that this problem would be a common user error, but cannot find any thread that covers the problem. Seems like a simple problem with an equally simple answer. I hope that is the case. Thank you.

• 1. Re: BOOK PDF spreads_almost works
          BarbBinder Adobe Community Professional

That's because the first page of a chapter is a one-page spread, and is the last page, if it ends on a left page—so it's doing what you asked.