2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2016 10:58 PM by john beardsworth

Help: Moving from Aperture, Need Assistance with Library Management

besakof Level 1

Hello,

I am currently in the process of switching from Aperture to Lightroom. I know there is a plug in to assist with this transfer. That I am not concerned about (not right now at least, haven't started to switch formerly yet).

Question is, I want to know if there is a way to have a similar library management method as I do with Aperture. I am a concert/event photographer, doing many events per week. Having a small hard drive on my Macbook Pro (256gb), I can't possibly store my library on my computer. So, I do the following:

My main library is on an external hard drive (which I frequently back up as well). After an event, I create on Aperture a new library locally on my computer so I can quickly edit photos on my computer without it slowing down from an external drive. After a few events/few hundred photos have built up on my local library, I plug in my external drive with the main library, open Aperture, and import the entire Library. I then delete the local library (having it now on my hard drive/main library), rinse, repeat. 

One of the reasons I like Aperture is because the library management is rather clean. One single file, containing my entire library of photos and edits.

What is confusing me is how I could possibly accomplish this (either similar way or one equally as simple) with Lightroom? I'm confused how the whole library management goes with Lightroom in comparison to Aperture.

Would greatly appreciate it if someone could help me out here/walk me through this and explain it.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Help: Moving from Aperture, Need Assistance with Library Management
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I am unsure how Aperture works but I think you can do something similar to what you’re describing with LR using Import Catalog.