8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2009 10:27 AM by Newsgroup_User

The Great State Debate

ProjectedSurplus Level 1
      K, I'm a newbie and my colleague is much more experienced but . . . .

I've built an HTML mockup in which I've eliminated a whole set of IF isSignedIn='true' conditions by making every new site visitor a defacto OwnerID=1.

Then where OwnerID=1 is shown "components A, B, C" (as specified from a dbase array), upon signIn (as OwnerID=238) the user is shown "components A, C, D, E, F".

But my colleague suggests the complete page redraws in HTML are very much different from the display list in Flash/Flex -- and thus he is adamant about retaining "states" of visible/hidden for say component B (as well as essentially for D, E, F so they are "hidden" upon signOut).

However, I in my "a little knowledge is a dangerous thing" newbie glory, can't get my head around it not being a much more straightforward coding effort to eliminate these states in favour of I guess an "exists" or "null" scenario??? Frankly I don't even know if I am playing semantic games, way out in left field or maybe just not explaining myself well but if you have thoughts/feedback it would be sincerely welcomed.
        • 1. Re: The Great State Debate
          Level 7

"ProjectedSurplus" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:gpk90t$s0u$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > K, I'm a newbie and my colleague is much more experienced but . . . .
          >
          > I've built an HTML mockup in which I've eliminated a whole set of IF
          > isSignedIn='true' conditions by making every new site visitor a defacto
          > OwnerID=1.
          >
          > Then where OwnerID=1 is shown "components A, B, C" (as specified from a
          > dbase
          > array), upon signIn (as OwnerID=238) the user is shown "components A,
          > C,
          > D, E, F".
          >