5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2016 9:49 AM by Rick Gerard

Rendering a comp for easier editing? **New to AE**

danieljag1

Hey everybody,

I'm still very new to AE (most recent update) and I am looking for a way to render my entire composition so that I can edit quicker. Let me explain:

Example: In Premiere, when I edit, I can render the whole sequence so that it plays smoother and I only have to render small amounts of video as I edit. I'm trying to accomplish the same thing in AE. I just imported my Premiere project (1min; 30sec) into AE and as I tried playing it back, it could only play 1 frame every 1-2 seconds. It makes it impossible to edit. I'm working on the latest model 27" iMac 5K Retina with 24GB RAM and an AMD Radeon 2GB video card. The comp is 720p. I read something about pre-render, but I don't think it's what I need. I haven't been able to make any changes to the comp yet so all the layers are in use.

Any advice is appreciated! And I apologize if I left out any important info regarding the project.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Rendering a comp for easier editing? **New to AE**
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant