3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2016 10:34 AM by RoninEdits

Conflicted on buying a sound card

markk38530789

Hello everyone,

I am a college student scheduled to take a digital video production class this fall for my Digital Arts (Graphics & Animation) major. The outstanding issue being raised here is what I need to ensure the best possible audio results for my classwork and portfolio. I do know that I am purchasing, a high quality pair of headphones. A major candidate is the Audio-Technica ath-Mx 50.

My questions stem from whether my motherboard's Realtek ALC892 is enough for quality video production with Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2015, and Audition among others. Even if it's enough, there seem to be other benefits to a dedicated card for other uses besides this one class, such as for gaming. My concern though is diminishing returns for the money. There is so much confusion on whether sound cards today are worth it. Some say yes, while others (including some on this forum) are skeptical. An instructor at my school that teaches audio production seemed to think that a dedicated card might be a good idea. That is one person's opinion however.

As a disclaimer, the lion's share of the work will be done on the school's computers. My concern relates to any work done away from school on my own machine. If was to get a dedicated card the top choices are the Asus Essence STX II and the Creative Sound Blaster ZXR. My PC is running the full Adobe Creative Cloud suite, and Windows 10 Pro.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Conflicted on buying a sound card
          RoninEdits Most Valuable Participant

one of the biggest parts to deciding which parts, is budget, how accurate do you want it to be, and how good are your ears at hearing. it will take months, usually years, for someone working with audio to develop good ears.