3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2016 9:06 AM by Just Shoot Me

What's wrong with Lightroom 5

milo dixon

Hello

I'm running Lightroom 5 on a Mac Pro (2 x 2.4 Ghz Quad core Intel zeon) with 24GB of memory (24 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC) Graphics (ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB) on OS x 10.8.5

There are several things I need to ask but the first is that it always 'get's stuck' when I launch it for the first time. I have to force quit it and relaunch it. It reads the images much more slowly than I would like.

Is it my Mac that's too slow or is there a bug?

If I upgrade to lightroom 6 will it help?

Also if I do upgrade to Lightroom 6 would I be able to install it as just Lightroom 6 (and not have to go up from where ever I started - i.e. Lightroom 3 for example?)

Sorry I'm not phrasing this very well...

I'm considering getting a new MAC so wouldn't want to clog it up with lots of stages of upgrades...

Also if I do get a new Mac what specifications would you recommend (I'm a professional photographer shooting on RAW.

Thank you

Claire

• 1. Re: What's wrong with Lightroom 5
          F. McLion Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Don't expect a speed-up from version 6.

You can install LR 6 directly and upgrade the current catalog - there's no need to install any of the older versions. You'll only need the serial # from the older version when installing an upgrade.

For the specs: LR mainly gains from a fast CPU. A SSD adds some speed too. I'd say 16 GB of RAM is fine. If you use a 4k display, a decent dedicated graphic would help as well. If you use a lower resolution display, there is not much gain from the GPU acceleration.

• 2. Re: What's wrong with Lightroom 5
            trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

milo dixon wrote:

it always 'get's stuck' when I launch it for the first time. I have to force quit it and relaunch it.