3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2016 6:22 AM by kerrishotts

Several PhoneGap Questions/Issues from a beginner

dogofpavlov

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to PhoneGap but not HTML/CSS/JS.   I  have some questions/issues I've been unable to find the answers I'm hoping someone here can explain.

When I run PhoneGap Desktop on my Windows PC, and I create a blank new project (or the one phonegap comes with), it creates the following files/folder structure:

-(folder) .cordova

-(folder) hooks

-(folder) platforms

-(folder) plugins

-(folder) www

-(file) config.xml

And inside of the (www) I can see what looks like normal website structure with (index.html, imgfolder, cssfolder, etc).

Issue 1 - The config.xml file has some conflicting paths included in it that confuse me. I see this line

<content src="index.html"/>

and then I also see this line

<icon src="www/res/icon/android/drawable-ldpi-icon.png" density="ldpi"/>

Now based on the structure I outlined above, there is no "index.html" sitting in the root of the folder. There is 1 inside "www" but not the root. Does  PhoneGap just assume the first file should be in the www?

If that's the case, then why doesn't PhoneGap assume the icons would be in the "www" and list the path like this?

<icon src="res/icon/android/drawable-ldpi-icon.png" density="ldpi"/>

Issue 2 - I'm confused exactly how I go about uploading this structure to Adobe PhoneGap Build .

I saw a few people that said to just zip the "www" folder and upload it. This DID in fact work... but I had to change a few things to get it to work. I had to move the "config.xml" listed above into the actual "www" folder. By doing this, I then had to edit the "config.xml" to change all the incorrect paths that would no longer be valid (like  changing <icon src="www/res/icon/android/drawable-ldpi-icon.png" density="ldpi"/> to be <icon src="res/icon/android/drawable-ldpi-icon.png" density="ldpi"/> )