4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2016 2:41 PM by RoninEdits

Need inputs on my computer build for Premiere/AfterEffects/Photoshop/Lightroom

jomsjoms Level 1

Hi,

I am in the middle of buying a new computer and I have purchased most parts already. I do have some questions though.

To begin with, I am a hobbyist and would be building this for Creative cloud Premiere/ After Effects / Photoshop / Lightroom. (No games)

I take pictures with my Sony a7rii (40MB+ RAW pics) and home videos with my Sony AX33 video cam (4k recording).

I am an average Photoshop user, currently learning Lightroom, and will learn Premiere and After Effects in the near future.

I am not a professional and I only do this as a hobby.

My system:

CPU - Intel i7-6800K Broadwell-E (mildly overclocked to 4Ghz)

RAM - 32GB Gskill Ripjaws 4 F4-2666C 15Q-32GRR (red) - 8GBx4pcs

Vcard - Asus Geforce GTX960 (soon to be GTX 1070)

Mboard - Asus X99 Deluxe USB 3.1

Power Supply - Corsair AX 860i Power Supply

Case - Corsair Case 600T Mid-Tower Case

CPU cooler - Noctua D15

Monitor - BenQ BL3201PH (4K monitor) 32"

Calibrate - Xrite i1 Display Pro

Windows 10 - 64bit

Drives: (I don't really want to do any RAID as I have no experience in that)

New - Samsung 850 PRO SSD 512GB

New - Samsung 950 PRO SSD M.2 NVM PCI-Express 512GB

New - Western Digital Black - 4TB

New - Samsung 840 EVO 512GB (For use on my other computer or should I use it here too?)

New - Western Digital Enterprise Class WD Re+ WD6005FRPZ - 6TB Datacenter storage (Got this from my brother. He won't use it anymore.)

Used - 256GB SSD

Used - 2TB Western Digital Green - 2TB x 2

Questions:

1) i7-6850 won't be a dramatic upgrade for me since I will only be using 1x video card right? The 8core/10core is much too expensive for me.

2) What would be the best configuration for my hard drives? Is this correct?

OS/Programs = Samsung 850 PRO SSD 512GB