2 Replies Latest reply on May 31, 2017 11:17 AM by rob day

Why do my colour swatches change colour when I add images to a slide?

emilyd57719266

Hi guys

I constantly am working on work documents in InDesign and I've recently had an issue I've never had before..

I have my RGB colour swatches set up and to give you an example of what happens please see below:

I have text and objects in my desired RGB swatch and when I place images onto the page the colours change to a duller version. But my swatch is still set to the colour I want. I'm no expert but is this something to do with the images causing the swatch on that page to turn to CMYK?

I don't know how to stop it doing this I would be REALLY grateful if someone could explain this to me!

Thank you!

Joey

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 13.42.37.pngScreen Shot 2016-06-22 at 13.42.46.png

• 1. Re: Why do my colour swatches change colour when I add images to a slide?
          gator soup Level 4

what do you mean by swatch -- you have an ID document set up with RGB objects?

what do you mean by placing -- you are dragging objects from one document to another (and that's where the color changes)?

i'm guessing the documents and/or objects contain mismatched color spaces and your Color Settings are set up to ignore profiles

in essence, the color management system (CMS) is assuming/applying the default RGB color profile/space and CMS's conversion to the monitor profile is changing the screen preview because the wrong object profile is being used

one way to be catch a profile issue would be to set your Color Settings like this (and see if a Mismatch or Missing Profile warning is triggered when you try to duplicate the problem)

cs.jpg

• 2. Re: Why do my colour swatches change colour when I add images to a slide?
            rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't know how to stop it doing this  I would be REALLY grateful if someone could explain this to me!