4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2016 7:00 AM by trshaner

Speed is paramount

jonhob Level 1

I'm a sports photographer and need to supply images, in a variety of sizes and formats to various outlets quickly and efficiently.

For football I use Photo Mechanic with Photoshop and a few actions which resize, save-as then send to an Export folder and then to close the image ready for titling back in PM before sending via FTP.

For or my other work, mainly motorsport, I use PM to ingest and add IPTC data (as above) and to sort images then import in to Lightroom, filter the images, edit then, and this is Lightrooms best feature, fun my exports to send the images off to a number of Dropbox folders again at different sizes. I love Lr's Export section!!! I've even set up key commands to trigger the exports.

My big bugbear is the amount of time it takes to import in to Lr. When I'm importing 600-1000 images per race, I'm up against the clock to get images sent out. My Mac uses a FW800 port and I have 3 lexar CF readers piggyback. Getting the images in to PM is not an issue, it's Lr which is sooooooo slow. I wonder if I should used Ps but it doesnt have the same Export section. ACR is also an option but I hate it!!! Again, no Export section.

Has anyone got any thoughts or opinions?

Speed we'd is a must!!

Thanks in advance.

Jon

• 1. Re: Speed is paramount
          Jao vdL Adobe Community Professional & MVP