5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2016 8:08 AM by Rick Gerard

Horizontal lines on progressive scan (impossible to fix)?

antonio_1986

Hi everyone. I'm new on the forum and I'm a newbie. I have a H264/AVC (1280x720p 25fps) video with progressive scan. The video presents some annoying horizontal lines and I cannot fix it. The lines are present only during the motion, and not in static scene. I tried hundred of times (deinterlace , convert, change frame rate etc) and for day and day, with other software and premiere pro, but nothing. Now I'm trying with AE. So, I would know if After Effect can help me to fix this problem. Maybe a tutorial for a newbie (like me) can help...

I wait for a your answer and sorry for bad english.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Horizontal lines on progressive scan (impossible to fix)?
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Can we seen an example of what you're talking about?

• 2. Re: Horizontal lines on progressive scan (impossible to fix)?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The lines could be interlacing. They could be compression artifacts. Post a screenshot of your project with the footage selected in the Project panel so we can see the settings, the footage in a timeline with all modified properties of the layer revealed (press the u key twice) and the Magnification factor set to 100% and the resolution set to Auto, then move the comp panel around so we can see the problem areas. Print screen if you are on a PC then paste into the reply field on this forum or Shift + Ctrl/Cmnd + 3 on a Mac to save a screenshot to your desktop and drag it to the reply field so we can see what's going on.

If it's interlacing you can fix the problem a bit by properly separating fields. If it is compression artifacts then you are out of luck.

• 3. Re: Horizontal lines on progressive scan (impossible to fix)?
              antonio_1986 Level 1

Hello. I tried to make a screenshoot of the movie and Adobe After Effect. Image 3.jpg