12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2016 12:00 PM by hibhaven

How to prevent virtual copies from being added to the original folder

hibhaven

I am a wedding/event photographer and have recently moved to LR CC after having used Apple Aperture for years. And have fallen in love with LR, its so powerful and easy to use.

Here is my question regarding virtual copies:

I usually end up with 1000 to 5000 images from each shoot, and like to create atleast 3-4 different edit styles for each image before deciding which one suits best. After importing images into my folder (say 1000 images), I edit all images. Then create 4 different collections, each with virtual copies of all photos and apply different styles to each collection. Then I choose specific images from each collection which get delivered to the client.

Every time I create a collection with virtual copies (say 1000 images), these copies also get added to the folder, hence increasing the total image count to 4000 (in a case where I create 4 sets of VCs). This becomes very mis-leading when trying to track the total number of original images in the folder. Is there a way to create virtual copies in a collection, without adding these copies to the folder. The current approach of LR where it adds all VCs in collections to the original folder is very incorrect. The objective of creating a VC in a collection is to keep it separate from the folder so that we can play around with it and use/ discard it the way we want.

Any solution?

• 1. Re: How to prevent virtual copies from being added to the original folder
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I simply use the menu.

Photo >> Stacking >> Collapse All Stacks

To view again:

Expand All Stacks

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to prevent virtual copies from being added to the original folder
            Abambo Level 4