2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2016 4:32 PM by rulogrunge

Play/pause function

rulogrunge Level 1

Hello there

I'm quite new in Edge Animate and I'm working on a project that involves video and some pictures.

The timeline runs synchronizing the pictures and the video, it moves to specific trigger keyframes, and when you hit the next or previous buttons, it changes the picture shown and the video time.

I've figured out everything except a function to the play/pause button. What I need to do is that this button toggles play/pause in the video and in the timeline at the same time, is this possible?

The code I have for the button that controls this:

if (sym.getSymbol("main_video").$("VIDEO")[0].paused) {

sym.getSymbol("main_video").$("VIDEO")[0].play();

} else {

sym.getSymbol("main_video").$("VIDEO")[0].pause();

}

This works fine with the video, but it doesn't affect the timeline (where the pictures are), the pictures keep running on the timeline, even if the video is in pause.

I've tried to stop the timeline adding this to the play/pause button

if (sym.getSymbol("Stage").$("Stage")[0].paused) {

sym.getSymbol("Stage").$("Stage")[0].play();

} else {

sym.getSymbol("Stage").$("Stage")[0].pause();

}

This doesn't pause/play the timeline.

Help will be very appreciated!

• 1. Re: Play/pause function
          ddhayles Level 3

To stop or play the timeline simply type:

this.play(); 

or

this.stop();

If you want to stop or play a timeline in a symbol use:

sym.getSymbol("timelineName").play(); // Play timeline

sym.getSymbol("timelineName").stop(); // Stop timeline

• 2. Re: Play/pause function
            rulogrunge Level 1

Hi ddhayles

Thank you for your reply. The thing is, if a put a stop on the timeline and then a play, it restarts the timeline, what I need is a pause function, for example: