4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2016 6:52 PM by Just Shoot Me

Lightroom 4 vs. New update? NEED HELP ASAP

tishae81321774

okay so i just updated my IMac to OS X El Capitan and i went to go to lightroom and once i went there it wanted me to put in my serial # in which i have so i put it in and pushed finish and it exited out and so i went to re open in and it wanted me to do the same thing! so i went on the chat and they guy named paul said there was nothing he could do to help and sent me this link. I'm a photographer and under a dead line and need help asap someone please help! i don't know how to make lightroom 4 work after this update!

• 1. Re: Lightroom 4 vs. New update? NEED HELP ASAP
          Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

Use your Time Machine, or other backup/cloning program you have been using, to restore your Mac to the older version of OS X that was originally on your system.

Or you might need to set the Write permissions for your user name on the folder that LR uses to store the license info in.

Where to find Lightroom 4 preference files

Go to the folder described in the article above and right click on the folder and select Get Info. At the bottom, Sharing and Permission, your username should be listed and have both Read & Write permissions. If not click the Lock icon, type in your password, Click the Plus sign and add your username then give it the Read & Write permissions.

With El Capitan Apple has gotten more restrictive with user permissions.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Lightroom 4 vs. New update? NEED HELP ASAP

Just a friendly note.

The next time you have a deadline for a project don't upgrade your operating system in the middle of it. Wait until you are done with that project and have free time.

Then make sure you have a total, complete, system backup from just before you did the upgrade that you can restore in case something goes wrong.

• 3. Re: Lightroom 4 vs. New update? NEED HELP ASAP