3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 6, 2016 10:53 AM by RoninEdits

New system for multicam 1080p work

moritzell Level 1

Hello everyone!

I'm an enthusiast photographer from Germany and I started doing more and more client work over the last couple of years.

Over the last two years I started experimenting with DSLR videography and I just finished my fourth major project - filming a play at a school in town. I edit with Premiere Pro CC 2015.

I work with a Panasonic GH3 as a stationary cam recording to an Atomos Ninja 2, a Nikon D750 as a run & gun camera and a D600 or a Panasionic HC-V777 as C-cam / third perspective. Since my clients are very happy with the results, I think that an upgrade to 4k isn't necessary yet and besides the wish to crop my videos occasionally, I'm okay with 1080p for now.

But the main problem for me is working with my current rendering system. Even though it runs stable and I can get my work done "okay-ish", I plan to build a new system from scratch matching my needs better. It's not about wanting a 100% performance gain rather than getting the parts right, since my current system has been upgraded with different bits and pieces since 2012:

- i7 3770k @4,3

- 32GB DDR3 1600 MHz (1866 manufacturer spec = BSOD)

- MSI R9 390

- 120 GB Samsung 830 Basic - OS + software

- 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO - Media + cache, previews

- 2 TB Seagate 5400 Rpm - (Personal stuff like music etc.)

- 1 TB Samsung 5400 Rpm - Unused

What I want:

- Even more RAM -  for working smoothly even with projects that are 1h+ with 3-4 cameras + multiple audio tracks + overlays + effects + stabilizing

- More rendering power - so I can create previews faster or render the whole project faster after the client sends me change proposals

- More efficient disk setup - with enough space + speed

- Better cooling - my i7 current doesn't like higher voltages a lot

My thoughts on a new system:

- i7 5820k

- MSI X99A Raider oder X99A SLI

- 64GB DDR4 2133 MHz