9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2016 9:21 AM by gkaiseril

Negative numbers not working in calculation

Ms Tela

I am new to form field calculations and have run into an issue I can't resolve. I have a form with calculations. There are four columns, (beginning balance, receipts, expenditures and ending balance) the problem happens when a negative number is entered for the beginning balance. My calculation should be beginning balance + receipts - expenditures = ending balance but if a negative beginning balance is ed and you tab to receipts, enter receipts, tab to expenditures, enter expenditures, tab to ending balance I get the error "The value entered does not match the format of the field'. If beginning balance is a positive number there isn't a problem. I can send someone a copy of the form if that will help resolve this. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I am using Acrobat 9 Pro

Here is a sample of my calculation for ending balance:

// Get first field value
      var v1 = getField("Beginning Balance.7").value;

// Get second field value
      var v2 = getField("Receipts7").value;

// Get first field value
      var v3 = getField("Expenditures7").value;

// Set this field value equal to the difference
      event.value = v1 + v2 - v3;

• 1. Re: Negative numbers not working in calculation
          gkaiseril MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Are any of the input fields to your calculation empty?

A null field in some processed is treated like zero while in others it is treated like a string or non-numeric value. The "+" operator performs additions if the values being processed are clearly numeric values, but concatenates or joins the values if any value is not a numeric value.

Your script needs to make sure all values are numeric values. You can use the "Number" constrictor to convert a null string to zero.

// Get first field value

// Get first field value

event.value = Nmber(v1) + Number(v2) - v3;