1 Reply Latest reply on Jul 11, 2016 2:20 AM by john beardsworth

I'm totally confused about folders, collections and smart collections!

richardh83026275

I'm a complete Lr newbie so please forgive what are probably basic questions!

In Folders, I have 2 folders - Aix, and Annecy which have pics of different holidays.

In Collections, under Smart Collections I have a folder named Aix which has my Aix pics and that has synced to Lr on my ipad.  However,although Annecy is listed under Collections, it is in a folder at the top of a new tree under Smart Collections but not part of Smart Collections.  I hope that makes sense!  This Annecy folder does not contain any pics and the only thing being synced to ipad is the folder name.  How can I copy the pics from the folder in Folders to the folder in Collections?

I have read that pics need to be in Collections before they can be synced.  However, on the ipad there is a Folder named 'Lightroom Photos'  This contains 242 pics, the same as 'All synced Photographs' under the Catalog heading when Lr displays on my desktop.  At present, i am initially downloading my pics into my desktop and then importing to Lr.

Finally, regarding Lr mobile in reply to a previous enquiry johnreliis advised that I should make sure I'm logged into Creative cloud on the ipad before being able to view synced pics on the ipad.  I downloaded Lr for mobile from the Apple store and do not have anything for CC on the ipad.  I now wonder if the reason the Annecy pics do not display on the ipad  is due to the fact that, at present, they are not in a Collection.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

Richard

• 1. Re: I'm totally confused about folders, collections and smart collections!
          john beardsworth Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Just drag Annecy out of Smart Collections and next to Aix.