12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2009 8:36 PM by bunner bob

Importing AI files - stroke behavior - help me understand

bunner bob
      I'm just learning Fireworks as a possible replacement to my current Photoshop CS4->ImageReady CS2 web graphics workflow.

My co-designer typically designs websites in Illustrator, then gives me the files to build from. She's not much of a detail person and it's typically my job to fine-align everything before building. I was curious how strokes would move from AI to FW, that being a typical issue going from AI to PS (strokes look great in AI, but come into PS not aligned to the pixel, making them antialiased).

Opening an AI file in FW, I saw that the strokes appeared to retain the same alignment set in AI (even being aligned to the sub pixel when so set in AI - though FW only displays numerically to the whole pixel). When I cursored to each number in the Properties and hit enter to "re-set" that number, the object shifted so its edges were right on. But of course with a single pixel stroke, that put the stroke into 2 different pixels, for a soft antialiased look. Further exploration revealed the option to set the stroke to outside or inside (as in AI), which cleared up the softening.

Great, I thought. So why not just set that in the first place in AI and then import. Well, that didn't work. Instead, the fill and stroke came in as two separate objects, grouped. The stroke was a compound shape with a hole through it. And apparently no ability to get it locked to the pixel.

So as a result it looks like our workflow must be:

1. Designer designs, and agrees not to use any stroke alignments other than "center". Gives me the AI.

2. I open in FW and "re-set" the coordinates and width/height of each object to ensure they are on the pixel grid.

3. I go to each object and set the stroke to Inside or Outside so it too is on the pixel grid. Or set the stroke to Pencil Hard.