9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2016 1:49 PM by trshaner

$1.99 for 20GB of space a bit steep.

Hollywood_7

I'm an amateur photographer. I fully aware of the advantages of RAW vs JPEG. I was excited with the RAW support for Lightroom what I wasn't excited about was the price tag. $1.99 per month/ 20GB is not a lot of storage space when saving in RAW format. I use a Canon G7X camera that has RAW support. But for the storage price I may as well wait for iOS 10 that will support RAW for free.

If if the storage was more like 60GB for $1.99 I would consider it.

Am I missing something here or does anyone else agree?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: $1.99 for 20GB of space a bit steep.
          JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I will admit that I'm not very well informed about all the services available from Adobe. Where do you get 20 GB of storage for $1.99? Take note that that would be cloud storage, and you wouldn't be able to work on those images if they were only stored there. Your raw images need to be local on a hard drive in order for Lightroom to have access to them. Are you thinking you want to store your entire library in cloud storage?

• 2. Re: $1.99 for 20GB of space a bit steep.
            Hollywood_7 Level 1

I got the price from the Adobe Creative Cloud storage app. In order to use the "free" Lightroom app you will need to "pay" for Adobe Creative Cloud storage to access the "RAW" feature from the Lightroom mobile app for members. The minimum "pay" option is $1.99 for your first 20 GB in Adobe Creative Cloud, there is no other way to use Lightroom Mobile with RAW unless you purchase the Adobe Creative Cloud.

Are you aware of another way to access the mobile RAW feature in iOS Lightroom without having to subscribe to an Adobe Creative Cloud service?

I've read the "small print" very carefully and do not see another option, have you discovered another way that I am not aware of?

• 3. Re: $1.99 for 20GB of space a bit steep.