7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2009 7:29 AM by Rothrock

Scroll Wheel and Flash

DVDmike Level 1
      I am not a Flash Developer, so I thought that I would go to the experts here on the Flash for to see what is the truth about the scroll wheel. I had someone develop a flash based web site for me and where we have text windows that need a vertical scroll bar the mouse wheel is disabled for the user. Since I am used to non-flash sites that always include a scroll wheel, I questioned the developer about why this functionality was not built in. The response was as follows:

"The scroll wheel is in fact not a basic component at all for Flash sites. You
      would be hard pressed to find any Flash site that has scroll wheel capability."

Since I am not a flash developer, I just wanted to hear from some developers if the above statement is true or not. Thank you for your assistance.
        • 1. Re: Scroll Wheel and Flash
          xchanin Level 2
          I can think of one site that I visit often, that uses the scroll wheel for the navigation: http://www.thefwa.com. I personally haven't developed any site in which the scroll wheel is used for navigation, but that doesn't mean that I won't; in fact, in my next project, there is going to be use for the scroll wheel.
          • 2. Scroll Wheel and Flash
            DVDmike Level 1
            Thanks for the reply xchanin. That site you mentioned looks really well designed. The scroll wheel looks great, but it has a lot more functionality than what I am talking about with my site. I'm really looking to know if it is sstandar or not for Flash sites to have scroll wheel functionality wherever there is a veritcal navigation bar. And based on your reply, I think that I can read between the lines and infer that it is not standard to include a wheel operation in places where there is a vertical navigation bar.