2 Replies Latest reply on Sep 4, 2016 9:19 AM by Rick Gerard

Layer has no source error?

TheTrueLou

Hi!

I'm trying to replace the selected box with the twitter logo as well as keeping the animations in place, but everytime I Alt+drag it from the project panel into the timeline this message comes up:

'After effects error: Layer has no source (26 § 335)'

I have no idea what is causing this and how to fix it, I'm also pretty new to after effects. Could someone help me to fix this?

Image in german:

bc381155df4e47e39d87e4caa95f81b0.png

• 1. Re: Layer has no source error?
          Roei Tzoref Adobe Community Professional

you can't replace source of native vector layers in AE (Text and Shape layers) because indeed they have no source - they are generated in the timeline and not the project window. you can approach this in a number of ways - based on your screenshots the way I would do it is this:

1. drag the logo comp to the timeline and place it below the shape layer.

2. make the shape layer the Alpha Matte of the logo by clicking on the TrkMat Switch on the Logo Layer - Alpha Matte

3. Parent the logo to the Shape

• 2. Re: Layer has no source error?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't think track matte is the best option in this project. If there is any animation in the Square Box 1 layer then This is a better solution:

1. Add the Logo (image or animated comp - more on your Logo comp later) to the LT15 composition just above the Square Box 1 layer
            2. Hold down the Shift key and parent the Logo to the Square Box 1 layer
            3. Turn off the visibility of the Square Box 1 layer

Holding down the shift key will snap the Logo to the same position and scale an rotation of the parent layer and pick up any animation you have in the layer in the same way Replacing footage would have worked if you had used a solid or an image for the Square Box placeholder.