21 Replies Latest reply on Jul 21, 2016 5:56 AM by cooler61

Using Timestamp

cooler61

I am creating a form that behaves like a time clock. I have used the Mouse Up function with a field named Timestamp and it doesn't work. Should I expect this type of function to work with Adobe? I am a novice, but follow directions well. 

• 1. Re: Using Timestamp
          Karl Heinz Kremer Adobe Community Professional

We need a bit more information: What exactly are you doing in your mouse-up action? What is "this type of function"? If you want to learn about time and date support in Acrobat's JavaScript, take a look at this three part tutorial:

https://acrobatusers.com/tutorials/date_time_part1 

• 2. Re: Using Timestamp
            cooler61 Level 1

I created a form.  I added a text box so that the system can generate the

date and time and input the date and time into a the text box with one

click, so employees don't have to use an electronic time stamp machine.

Maybe my hopes are too high for an Adobe app.  I copied the following into

the menu that allows me to customize the box (font size, placement, etc:

// Mouse UP script of a button

getField("timestamp1").value = util.printd("mm/dd/yyyy HH:MM", new Date());

Nothing happened.

I will review the link that you provided, but if Adobe, using Java Script,

can't do what I want, I don't need to go through the tutorial.

Thanks.

Claudia

On Tue, Jul 19, 2016 at 12:10 PM, Karl Heinz Kremer <

• 3. Re: Using Timestamp

In that case, use the following script, it should fill in the data when the user clicks on the field:

event.target.value = util.printd("mm/dd/yyyy HH:MM", new Date());