9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2016 2:37 PM by Kevin-Monahan

PC Hardware not being fully utilized

bwhite94

First of all, let me admit I am pretty new with Premiere Pro. My technical knowledge however is not as new. I've been doing some testing with some new hardware and have found that it appears to be not fully utilized. I am curious if I have something misconfigured, or if it is just a Premiere limitation.

My Hardware

• i7-6800k (6 cores/12 threads) @ 4.0GHz [Hyperthreading enabled]
      • 16GB of DDR4-3000 RAM [Dual channel]
      • msi GTX680 w/ 2GB GDDR5 Memory (somewhat outdated -- I know)
      • C:\ Drive Samsung 850 EVO (500GB)
      • G:\ Drive (scratch disks and media) -- Samsung 950 Pro NVMe drive (~2.5GBps Read/1.5GBps Write)
      • D:\ Drive Seagate 1TB HDD for extra storage
      • Z:\ Drive 60GB SSD (Sata 6Gbps)

I am rendering video shot from a GoPro Hero 3 at 1080p30 and have found that only 15-20% of my CPU is used while rendering.

Here are my scratch disk settings:

K9EL0pW.png

Effects settings:

E7pLyzW.png

Should rendering a preview for a 26 second long video with literally only Lens Distortion correction take ~7 minutes to render? If so, could someone explain why only 15-20% of my CPU is being used while rendering?

Example with Warp Stabilizer and Lens Distortion Correction:

zWpPt3n.png

• 1. Re: PC Hardware not being fully utilized
          R Neil Haugen Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Bill Gehrke is really the expert on these things, and 'hangs more' on the Hardware forum than here, though he typically responds when I 'ping' him like that.

Neil

• 2. Re: PC Hardware not being fully utilized
            Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP