9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2016 4:03 PM by Jao vdL

Getting accurate LR translation from monitor to lab?

steveb0616

I'm new to Lightroom and have not ventured into PS yet. I just upgraded from a Mac Book Pro to iMac. I have a Spyder Pro5 screen calibrator and I've used it to calibrate my monitor. Thinking I was all set, I fixed up a couple nice landscape photos (shot on Nikon D810 in RAW) and exported then uploaded to Bay Photo. Prints came back close on color by way off on density. After a few emails back and forth with Bay Photo support, I got the note below. Clearly I don't want to give up on my brand new iMac, so are there tips from others to help me out?

Email from Bay Photo:

We do not recommend using Apple-brand monitors for print calibration. They are designed to make the images on-screen look pleasing to the eye: high contrast, high saturation, and bright. This results in the user under-compensating due to those attributes – the images on-screen will always look brighter and more vibrant than the no-color-correction prints will.

Here are some recommended monitors:

Recommendations:

Eizo ColorEdge series, starting at ~$1000
      NEC P-, PA-, or SpectraView series, starting at ~$600
      ASUS PA-series, starting at ~$400
      Dell UltraSharp PremierColor series, starting at ~$500

In general, a good monitor, designed for accurate color rendition, should possess the following specifications:

Resolution: 1920×1080px or better (16:9 or 16:10 aspect ratio)
      Contrast Ratio: 1000:1 or better
      Color Support: 1.07 billion colors or more
      Viewing Angle: 178° or better

• 1. Re: Getting accurate LR translation from monitor to lab?
          thedigitaldog MVP & Adobe Community Professional

The bit about Apple displays is pure BS! Your problem is your lab which isn't very well color managed (bet they demand you send them documents in sRGB; awful).