2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 24, 2006 8:36 PM by poonamsheth

What goes where?

Level 7
      I am a little confused with the various folders that are created with a new
      Flex project (bin, etc) and what goes in each folder (properly).

What folder is proper to put items such as:
      AS files
      CFC files (since I am using CFC for data)

Also, is it a better practice to put all the MXML files into the same folder
      or can they be broken up like a traditional web site into folders such as
      /portfolio, /sales, /members, etc.

I am attempting to build a project that has a login and allows members to be
      in a restricted area based on their privs.

Thanks. I am new to this and would like to learn these things!

--
      Wally Kolcz
      Developer / Support
      ProjectProofing.com

• 1. Re: What goes where?
          rameo
          Hi friend,
          Im also working with flex. Regarding folder management, You can make comfortable for you. .as files shall be placed at any folder. I donno about coldfusion. But im using java for business logic, in my case im using jrun server, there i can place my root folder within " Default" folder.I should copy and paste "WEB-INF" folder from "samples folder to my root folder, in order to deploy my folder. Except the webservices(may be java class file or jsp) files i shall place any other files within my folder structure. In case of class files, i should place those inside "WEB-INF\classes\" folder. This may be helpful to you.
          • 2. Re: What goes where?
            poonamsheth Level 1
            There is also called
            1] virtual directories, and
            2] Linked Resources

Virtual directories map a request path to a real path in your file system. You can keep your files in directories outside of the application directory structure, but map them to a path inside the application directory structure.