10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2016 5:20 AM by Roei Tzoref

How do I gradually wiggle faster?

zyrefiodge Level 1

Hi,

I want to have a video start still, and then gradually start wiggling more and more in the space of about 1 second.

I don't know much about the things you can do in after effects, but I know about how the wiggle thing works.

Could someone help? I'm pretty new with after effects.

• 1. Re: How do I gradually wiggle faster?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You will want to add two expression control sliders to your layer (Effects>Expression Controls>Slider Control) and rename them to amp and freq.

Now you just add the two sliders to the expression by declaring two variables "amp" and "freq" then add the wiggle method from the Expression Controls Menu.

Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 7.38.42 AM.png

This gives you this expression:

amp = effect("amp")("Slider");

freq= effect("freq")("Slider");

wiggle(freq, amp, octaves = 1, amp_mult = .5, t = time)

if you want to you can delete the octaves, amp_mult, and t functions so the final expression looks like this:

wiggle(freq, amp)

The octaves, amp-milt and t (time) functions are just available to give you more control on the method.

The last step is to animate the sliders.

The project looks like this:

Screen Shot 2016-07-23 at 7.36.24 AM.png

• 2. Re: How do I gradually wiggle faster?
            Roei Tzoref Adobe Community Professional

How about choosing an already made preset from the effects panel called "wiggle-position" and you get a stopwatch that you can keyframe and set the values from low to high to your satisfaction? 2 minutes and you're done.

• 3. Re: How do I gradually wiggle faster?

That is one way to do it but running through the process of creating your own expression is a better way to learn. You get exactly the same result but it's much more difficult to understand the expression.

• 4. Re: How do I gradually wiggle faster?