10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2016 3:07 PM by rachelk49727360

Photos pixelated in Lightroom and after exporting

rachelk49727360

Hi, I am new to Lightroom and photo editing in general. I also recently got a Macbook Pro Retina. When I zoom into RAW files, before importing to Lightroom, they do not appear pixelated (see the attached photo on the left). Once I import them to Lightroom, they are pixelated when you zoom in. I read somewhere that this is so that you can see how your editing is affecting each pixel. However, once I convert the photo in LR to jpeg and export, they are still very pixelated when you zoom in (see the attached photo on the right, particularly the diagonal line on the left of the photo). My questions are: why are the jpeg images very pixelated when the RAW files are not at all? Is this normal or is there some setting I should have changed? I also understand that jpegs reduce the quality of the photo, but it seems like a significant difference. I have also attached my export settings in Lightroom, although the photo being exported is of the same quality that I can see in LR. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 01.47.57.png

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 02.01.16.png

• 1. Re: Photos pixelated in Lightroom and after exporting
          dj_paige Level 9

What software are you using to view the photos zoomed before import? What zoom level are you using, 1:1 or 2:1 or something else?

• 2. Re: Photos pixelated in Lightroom and after exporting
            rachelk49727360 Level 1

Hi dj_paige, thanks for the reply. I am just zooming in on the photos in the Mac's standard photos folder (not using any software), at around 250% in both the original and jpeg.

• 3. Re: Photos pixelated in Lightroom and after exporting
              dj_paige Level 9

There's no 250% zoom in Lightroom. What is the zoom in Lightroom?