22 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2016 7:31 AM by mateuszb66553063

Index Page

mateuszb66553063

Hey Everyone ! I have a question about Index in Indesign. I am new to it, and I am trying to figure out something. I've watched some of the tutorials in youtube, but it aint helping exactly in the way that I want.

I am designing a catalogue that's 300 pages long, with all different product brands. I wanted to have an Index page, that will update along with my changes in the catalogue. I know how can I link the Index to pages and so on, but when I create it, I would like to have the page number in Heading only, rather then subheading.

So basically I want my Index to look something like this (Example) :

Nivea......pg03-13

• Make up
      • Cosmetics

Loreal.....pg14-21

• Hair Products

Dove.....pg22-31

• Toiletries

Instead of the one above I am getting the page numbers beside subheading which does not work for me. (Example underneath)

Nivea

• Make up - pg03-13
      • Cosmetics - pg03-13

Loreal

• Hair Products - pg14-21

Dove

• Toiletries pg22-31

Can anyone tell me how could i make index like the first one ? Thanks !

• 1. Re: Index Page
          SJRiegel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

When you place your second level entries, use Suppress Page Range

Screenshot 2016-07-26 12.13.12.png

• 2. Re: Index Page
            Obi-wan Kenobi Adobe Community Professional

Hi Susan,

I don't understand what you mean!

• 3. Re: Index Page

for the first example, there would need to be an Index entry for just Nivea. As long as all the text is threaded, and the paragraph style for the first occurrence of Nivea is not used again until the next brand name, the page range would be entered by setting the type to To Next Use of Style. The second-level entires have the type set to Suppress Page Number.

Screenshot 2016-07-26 13.17.15.png Screenshot 2016-07-26 13.21.42.png

The result, after setting different paragraph styles for the index listings, is this