22 Replies Latest reply on Jan 1, 2017 7:26 PM by johnj1227

Lightroom CC on Surface Book running slow

Kreeson Naraidoo Level 1

I'm a professional photographer and decided to give the Surface Book a shot.  I got the 512GB / Core Intel i7 16GB / dGPU model. 

Whilst most things work, I'm saddened that Lightroom CC (2015.6.1) is not really usable.  I had to disable the GPU in order for the brushes and other functions in the develop mode to work.  So what's the point of having a GPU for which you can't use.  The Surface Book is advertised "With a discrete GPU, run professional-grade software—Adobe Creative Cloud, AutoCAD, or Visual Studio—without compromise", however my productivity has been compromised.

I've tried uninstalling LR, reinstalling it, fiddling with settings etc but no joy.

I've been to the Microsoft Store in Sydney, I demonstrated the problem I'm experiencing and got told unfortunately there isn't anything they can do.

I would like to know if other users are having similar problems and what is Adobe & Microsoft doing about it.

This is an expensive laptop that is causing me a lot of grief and isn't even a month old.

• 1. Re: Lightroom CC on Surface Book running slow
          F. McLion Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What is the type of the dedicated GPU?

Are you using the latest driver for it from the manufacturer?

• 2. Re: Lightroom CC on Surface Book running slow
            Kreeson Naraidoo Level 1

Hi,

I have updated LR, Windows 10, and GPU drivers.

Here's my config:

Lightroom version: CC 2015.6.1 [ 1083169 ]

License: Creative Cloud

Operating system: Windows 10

Version: 10.0

Application architecture: x64

System architecture: x64

Logical processor count: 4

Processor speed: 2.8 GHz

Built-in memory: 16310.4 MB

Real memory available to Lightroom: 16310.4 MB

Real memory used by Lightroom: 1501.9 MB (9.2%)

Virtual memory used by Lightroom: 1839.7 MB

Memory cache size: 605.8 MB

Maximum thread count used by Camera Raw: 4