4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2016 12:03 AM by JBAtterton

Dell Precision Tower 7910 Performance with r3d 4k Edits?

JBAtterton

Hey everyone - I'm a freelance editor in the market for a new workstation and I have the opportunity to buy the following system at a reduced price from a local vendor;

• Dell Precision Tower 7910
      • Dual Xeon X5-2630 v3 8 Core CPU (2.4GHz)
      • 64GB 2133 MHz DDR4 ECC RAM
      • Quadro K4200 4GB
      • 1300W PSU

I will likely replace the GPU with something more up to date (GTX 1080/Titan possibly) and will be running my footage (primarily 4K+ RAW r3d files) from either an internal RAID array or an external Lacie RAID over Thunderbolt 2.

Would this machine achieve realtime playback in Premiere Pro at full res 4k? Multiple layers and no dropped frames? I will also be grading in Davinci Resolve on this machine.

I have some concerns over the relatively low clock speed of the CPUs based on the following articles - so it would be great to get an idea of what I could expect in terms of real-world editing performance from editors using a similar config.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Adobe-Premiere-Pro-CC-2015-Multi-Core-Performan ce-Update1-806/

http://ppbm7.com/index.php/tweakers-page/95-single-or-dual-cpu/109-single-or-dual-cpu

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Dell Precision Tower 7910 Performance with r3d 4k Edits?
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I scanned over my PPBM results and I would guess your Dual Xeon X5-2630 v3 would have about the Premiere Pro CPU horsepower as my single i7-5960X running at 4.5 GHz.  I do not yet have any results from the newer single processor the i7-6950X with 10 cores and regular turbo to 4 GHz so you might weigh your options.

Your best option may be to work with someone like @Eric Bowen at ADK to get something with Lifetime Technical Support configured precisely to your workflow and media

• 2. Re: Dell Precision Tower 7910 Performance with r3d 4k Edits?