4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 2:29 PM by lan.mine

Script to find all <Clip Group> and Run an Action to Crop

lan.mine Level 1

Hello,

I am currently scripting for Illustrator CS6. I am fairly new to JavaScript. I was wondering if it is possible for a script to identify all <Clip Group> within the file and for it will run an Action to crop within pathfinder? I have created the Action to crop, but I am unsure as to how to call the action correctly for it to work. Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Script to find all <Clip Group> and Run an Action to Crop
          Silly-V Adobe Community Professional

Hello!

This may be a complicated thing to start out with, but here is how you can select all of the clipping mask objects automatically, after which you can cycle through the document.selection to find each one's parent group and then perform the cropping.

You select the clipping paths with:
          app.executeMenuCommand("Clipping Masks menu item");

And, you run your action with:

app.doScript(actionName, setName);

Since the cropping procedure will require that you work on the groups individually, it would change your selection, so you'll have to deal with it however you see fit.

• 2. Re: Script to find all <Clip Group> and Run an Action to Crop
            lan.mine Level 1

HI Silly-V,

Thank you for answering my questions. This is what I have so far. The files that I am currently working with that have a clipping mask is labeled as <Clip Group>. Will I need to identify it somehow so the script below will work? Any examples will help me out a bunch. Thanks again.

#target illustrator

var clippingMask = app.executeMenuCommand("Clipping Masks menu item")

function cropMask(clippingMask){

if(clippingMask.length>0){

app.doScript('Cropify', 'Custom Art Actions')

}

};

• 3. Re: Script to find all <Clip Group> and Run an Action to Crop
              Silly-V Adobe Community Professional