7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 4, 2006 5:37 AM by Rothrock

question about mac osx

codescodescodes
      Hi everyone. I know this is an odd place to post this thread, but I tried to find a mac forum to post on, but I couldn't post on them because in order to register I had to have an email account that wasn't free. I don't understand why. I gave up trying to find a mac forum that I can use, so I decided to give this a try since there are some of you out there running Flash on the mac osx. I'm new to the mac and I'm trying to get aquainted with the operating system, but I came across a problem that I can't seem to figure out. When I minimize and application, let's say safari, and I switch to another application, let's say textEdit, and I minimize that and go back to safari, using the command+Tab shortcut key, the browser window doesn't open. It remains minimized and I can't find a shortcut key to maximize the browser. So I have a blank screen showing Safari in the menu bar, so I know that Safari is the active application, but no browser window is present because of the previous minimize command I executed. I know I can just use my mouse and scroll over the dock and click on the safari browser, but I wanted to see if there is a way to do it using keyboard shortcuts. Thanks for any help.
        • 1. Re: question about mac osx
          michael novia Level 1
          Well, welcome aboard OSX - you might never go back!

im not sure what's happening, ive tried it here, and the same thing happens?
          I would assume some functionality to it, but im not sure at the moment. For me, i hate using cmd+tab, its actually slower than moving to the dock to reopen a window.

However, when you switch using CMD+tab, you are selecting the program, just not maxmizing the child windows that it contains.
          • 2. Re: question about mac osx
            Rothrock Level 5
            You couldn't join the Apple forums? Strange.