1 2 Previous Next 46 Replies Latest reply on Sep 25, 2016 11:39 AM by Thrill Media

New desktop build-mind looking it over and offering advice?

Thrill Media Level 2

Thanks for looking!
      Been using PP forever but this is my first build, quite honestly this is new territory for me so here goes. Hoping to build a 4K (DVX200) crushing machine.

Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

Intel Core i7-6850K 15M Broadwell-E 6-Core 3.6 GHz LGA 2011-v3

ASUS X99-A LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0

MSI GeForce GTX 1070 DirectX 12 GTX 1070

G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2400

EVGA 220-P2-1000-XR 80 PLUS Platinum 1000 W

C drive: SAMSUNG 850 PRO 2.5" 512GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive

Video drives: (2) WD Black 5TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive

COntent and Cache drives (2) WD Black 1TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive

Corsair Graphite Series 760T Black Full Tower

*recommend RAID 0 controller for 5TB drives?

*recommend case fans and how many?

*PS Fan?

Does this look like a good setup? Am I missing anything? Could something be improved within reason $$ ?

Will the nVidia 1070 be able to drive two Dell 2407s @ 1920x1200 and a 4K monitor or will I need to add a second card?

Thanks for any help you can offer!
      Curtis

• 1. Re: New desktop build-mind looking it over and offering advice?
          NimChimpski Level 1

I have similar but: I have 3 x 1TB SSD in a RAID 0, 1TB for Adobe Cache and a 4TB WD as a backup for the RAID 0. Nvidea K4000 + Nvidea K5200.

It handles most that I throw at it but don't do much 4K.

• 3. Re: New desktop build-mind looking it over and offering advice?
            RoninEdits Most Valuable Participant