9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 9, 2016 9:54 AM by johane37958790

Camera + Light Issues

johane37958790

Hi!

I'm new to this community and relatively new to After Effect (I have been playing around a lot in it though). For the moment I'm trying to figure out the workflow and how to make my computer not explode during working and pre-rendering.

I'm working on a small animation project where I paint the scenery, scan it and use it in AE. Currently I have a problem where the computer slows down to a major halt as soon as I add 1 or more lights and 1 camera to the project. If I only have lights active I can switch to "Custom View 1" in Full resolution and move around without any hickups, works like a charm. And if I turn of the light I can go inte "Camera 1"-view and preview a moving camera without any problems. But as soon as I activate the lights the computer halts.

As I mentioned I'm pretty new to this, so maybe this is impossible with the rig I'm using. But it feels strange that it works perfectly when I'm in Custom view 1 and full resolution but not when in camera.

Is there a way to lower the quality of the lighting?

Other ways to make this work?

What I really would like to do is to use my second monitor as a preview screen showing "camera 1". As seen on pic 2 (without light active though), works perfect until I turn light back on. Same thing if I change my view to lets say "Front" on display 2, works perfect on Full resolution but hangs when I change to "camera 1"

PC

Intel i7 920 @ 2.67

24GB ram

Geforce GTX 970

Windows 10

Dedicated SSD 500gb with 250gb preserved for cache + all the project files and Indexing turned off

Windows and AE running on a separate SSD 250gb

After Effects 2015.3 version 13.8.0.144

All images/sequences uses proxy stills (about 1.6meg each)

Ray-traced 3D enabled, quality 3, AA: box

Adaptive resolution

CameraLight.jpg

CameraLight2.jpg

• 1. Re: Camera + Light Issues
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant