1 Reply Latest reply on Aug 11, 2016 4:53 AM by Mylenium

How were the Effects in this Video Created?

EmeraldParrot

Hello, I have a few questions about the effects created in this animation. I believe some of these effects were created with the help of Trapcode Particular.

Take a look at 0:23. See how Celestia's mane gets warped and moved when she moves her head a certain direction? I know that WarpOut applied the wave warp effect to her mane, but I don't know how he got the mane to move like that and follow her head movements. In a comment he stated that he used the wave warp effect + Trapcode Particular with the emitter tracked to her head. I searched some tutorials on this, but they were only explaining how to get particles to follow a certain path. I'm still learning After Effects, so I don't know much about emitters and motion paths. I can't seem to find anything that explains this. I see a "Tracker" option in After Effects, does this function the same way that the Particular one does? Do I have to add a new solid layer with Particular applied and use that for the emitter, or do I have to apply the Particular effect to the mane? When I add the Particular effect to the mane, the mane disappears.

I also want to learn how he created the magic effect on her horn. (0:43, 0:56) I'm assuming that this was done with Particular. It looks like it could've been done with Trapcode Form too.

Skip to 2:29. I love the way that Nightmare Moon's mane kind of circles around and fills up the screen. There seems to be a wave warp on it as it travels over to Luna, but I don't know how the mane was warped to fit the whole screen and expand. There also seems to be fire-like effects inside her mane. See how the outside of her mane is blue? How did he get that to stay around the edges and fade into the other parts of her mane when it touches them?