12 Replies Latest reply on Aug 16, 2016 8:41 AM by Danny Whitehead.

How to Convert Word Book Into InDesign

iSexualAttraction

I have a book written in Word and it's almost ready to publish. Looking at IngramSpark specifications, they want a PDF with CMYK colors which must be done with InDesign exported into PDF. Ok... Almost all the design is already done in Word (page headers, page numbers, fonts, etc)

I have no experience with InDesign whatsoever and don't really know what it's being used for. Apparently, it's used to do the final polishing of the book. I'll have to hire someone to do that. Problem is: I don't know what to ask them to do!

Could someone provide me with a step-by-step workflow of what needs to be done to take that Word document and get a publishing-ready InDesign file?

Also, what tasks should be performed by that person to obtain a book that is as close to possible to a book made by an official publisher?

What should I look for when looking for such a person, say, on Freelancer.com? (I also suppose there are plenty of experts here who would be willing to do it, although a site like Freelancer gives more control with price and reviews)

Thanks.

• 1. Re: How to Convert Word Book Into InDesign
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

This is not something you want to do without proper training.

Pay a professional.

• 2. Re: How to Convert Word Book Into InDesign
            Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

Forget the design, you have done in Word. Someone who knows InDesign will import the text, format it with styles, make numbers to the pages and will probably remake graphics and work on images.

• 3. Re: How to Convert Word Book Into InDesign
              MW Design Level 4

Is the book in Word exactly how you want it to appear in the printed book? You know, page size, margins, in general, the whole layout?

• 4. Re: How to Convert Word Book Into InDesign
                BarbBinder Adobe Community Professional