6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2016 11:36 PM by Eugene Tyson

Why do all of my printers want .ai files?

BrieBurnham Level 1

Hello, so I'm a professional graphic designer. Most of my work is for exhibit graphics in museums (so basically, making large posters with text and images).

Since I'm often balancing a wide variety of placed images (.psd files, eps, jpg, .tiff, pdf, etc), use master pages, grids, styles, text wrap, and typically am placing a large amount of text, I use InDesign. Its more robust and intuitive when handing photos, I like the text formatting better for large blocks of text, and I have just found it all around to be superior for the purpose of laying out complex graphics that combine imagery and text.

The problem I'm having is literally every single time we use a printer to produce our graphics, they seem perplexed and annoyed that I lay out my exhibit graphics in InDesign. One guy even tried to explain to me about how I should be using illustrator, and that in design was only for "book layouts."

Most other graphic designers I've talked to agree that you use photoshop for raster files (photo editing, retouching, etc), illustrator for vector drawings (illustrations, logos, etc) and some simple text layouts, and indesign if you are using complex combinations of the two and for both single and multi paged layouts. I comfortably go between all three of these programs depending on my needs.

I guess I'm justing wondering, why in the heck do all of our printers give me push back about using indesign? It seems strange to me to be told its wrong to use InDesign to design a poster.

Can anyone shed some light on this? I've talked to other graphic designers who create posters and their printers all seem fine using InDesign. Could it be the type of printer we are going to? (they tend to also be fabricators, and build exhibits). I of course use illustrator when they need a cut path (for dimensional letters, etc).