4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 22, 2016 11:30 AM by dreamingsod

organizing folders causes photos missing icon

dreamingsod

I'm just getting started--still on my free trial. I used the plug-in to import my iphoto library. Lightroom automatically created a Lightroom Masters file that it put everything in, and then in the Lightroom library, files were automatically sorted into subfolders by date.

I don't like that date system (one of the reasons I want to switch to Lightroom) so I started to try to organize the folders better. Here's where things got screwy.

I had watched the tutorials that said to always go through Lightroom if you're changing the location of folders or renaming them--don't go outside of it or Lightroom won't be able to find the file. So, I only went through Lightroom. I created a new folder (called !!legacy) and put everything in that. Then I selected four files, and created a new subfolder (comics and sketches) within the legacy folder that I put those in.

That seemed to work--the new subfolder appeared, below all the other dated ones, and had the files I'd selected in it. But when I did that, all of a sudden, all of these other photos in the main "!!legacy" folder started showing an exclamation mark ! next to them. When I hover over, it says "photo is missing."

These are photos I haven't touched at all (they're not among the four that I moved into the comics and sketches subfolder). I don't know how to find them and repair the path because I didn't move them in the first place. When I click on the ! it gives me this message:Screen Shot 2016-08-21 at 3.33.18 PM.pngIf I click on "locate" it opens my finder and shows me a folder it says is 2006-02-01:Screen Shot 2016-08-21 at 3.38.35 PM.pngand if I search within that for "ivoryhorse" it shows me three files with the exact same name but says it can't open them.