28 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2017 5:44 PM by slecheminant

Lightroom CC disgustingly slow - old issue, NEED ANSWERS

romen cole

Ok, before I begin my rant, here's my spec sheet...

Mac Pro (Late 2013)

El Capitan v.10.11.6

3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5

16 GB 1866 MHz DDR3 ECC

DUAL AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB

256GB SSD Internal Drive

3x 512GB SSD Samsung Eternal Drives (non-RAID)

I wanted to make sure it is already established that I am operating far beyond the "minimum system requirements". With these kinds of numbers, I should be able to manage the 3DFX for a motion feature film and not really skip a beat. I am a professional photographer and I shoot with full frame and medium format camera systems. Honestly, that is moot because I am seeing that bloody skinny wheel of death when dealing with the RAW files from both cameras.

So what's the solution to this? I dropped more than $5.5k on a new computer setup for the sole purpose of being able to streamline my photo selection/image management and editing process. Then I pay Adobe $30/mo for this software that is supposed to be the pinnacle of graphic processing and performance, and I get THIS piece of garbage. It's seriously got me wanting to chuck this Mac Pro from my loft window, but honestly I only have this issue with Lr CC. Every other software program that I run on this machine runs swimmingly, and Photoshop manages just fine for the most part - but LR crashes on me CONSTANTLY.

Furthermore, I've gone through all of the "optimizations" that the adobe developers seem to keep referencing. I increased my Camera Raw Cache settings to 15GB (and routinely dump the cache itself), minimized my image previews, turned off my OpenGL settings, and I am STILL getting that beach ball mockingly spinning in my face, maniacally laughing at my seemingly fruitless expenditure on a product that is supposed to be the flagship of creative programs.