4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2016 3:42 AM by Rick Gerard

OS X or Windows (Nvidia or AMD)?

annafanni

Hey,

I am a 2d motion graphic designer and I'd like to sell my 15" Macbook Pro (2013) and buy another computer instead because my current computer is really slow and is lagging when I'm in After Effects RAM Preview. My other problem is that when I have to I am usually working in Classic 3D because when I am running Raytraced 3d the computer always slows down as hell.

Some people recently told me that it would be a better idea to build a strong computer and buy a really strong (CUDA compatible) Nvidia Graphics Card into it as After Effects needs strong Graphics Card.

But I am very satisfied with user and multitasking experience of Apple's computers. So the other option is buying a strong iMac (specs: 27"-5K, 4GHz Inter Core i7, 32GB 1867MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 1TB flash storage, AMD Radeon R9 M395 with 4GB video memory).

My budget is about $4,380.

Could you tell me the pro and cons? What should I do?

• 1. Re: OS X or Windows (Nvidia or AMD)?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you have 16 gb ram just wait a while. Ray-traced rendering is going to be slow always because it's no longer being worked on. You should be using C4D lite to generate 3D elements. It renders way faster. If your MBPro is a Retina display and you have the proper CUDA drivers installed then you are running as fast as any equivalent system on Windows or Mac. I have not used Ray-traced rendering for a single project I was getting paid for, I've only done some experimenting. There are lots better and faster ways, especially now that we have C4D lite included to do that kind of thing. I only expect the integration to improve, and improve fairly quickly.