8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 31, 2016 4:13 PM by iKevinf

New to LR. Develop & Library displays slight difference

iKevinf

So I'm very new to LR, I'm literally working on my first image, mostly to get familiar with the application. So as I was jumping between the two sections, Library and Develop, I noticed that there's a slight change in the image. It's almost getting a bit faded in the library section compared to the develop section.

Here's a video of what I mean. Any help would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: New to LR. Develop & Library displays slight difference
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The previews shown in Library are stored with an AdobeRGB profile.  The develop rendering is from a ProPhotoRGB internal profile that holds more colors.  The issue seems to be a blackpoint difference because only the darker colors change. 

One possibility is that the Preview cache is corrupted so the preview is an older version of the image before some sort of adjustment was applied that lightened the shadows.  This should be easy enough to test by making some obvious adjustment and make sure it propagates to the Library view as well as being visible in Develop.

More likely is that your monitor profile is not quite right and recalibrating your display while starting with the sRGB profile having been assigned might fix the issue. 

See here:  http://www.lightroomqueen.com/articles-page/how-do-i-change-my-monitor-profile-to-check-wh ether-its-corrupted/

• 2. Re: New to LR. Develop & Library displays slight difference
            iKevinf Level 1

Thanks for the reply.

I just tried doing a calibration, my attempt at doing it manually didn't work very well, however I tried changing from the sRGB profile I have to the Adobe RGB (1998) (I'm on a Mac) and while still noticeable, it's much less. Only problem to me is that I find this profile a little more faded and less colourful.