4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2016 11:21 AM by mbirame

How to animate pushing in face of shape (pics)

mbirame

Hi folks,

I am quite new to After Effects.  I am trying to achieve an effect where I have a triangle and then inside the face of that triangle another triangle gets drawn.  Then the face of that new triangle gets pushed into the larger shape-simulating depth.  I mocked up basically what my before and after idea is using sketchup, but I don't know how to achieve this in after effects.  Any help or pointers towards tutorials that do this sort of thing would be much appreciated! 

before:

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 1.07.01 AM.png

after:

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 1.07.35 AM.png

thank you!

• 1. Re: How to animate pushing in face of shape (pics)
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you are trying to achieve this as an actual 3D object you need to be using C4D lite or maybe even Blender (blender.org). If you just want to simulate 3D then you can simply animate shape layers and paths or create your simulated 3D illustration as a layered Illustrator file and create your animation separately.  Either technique will require some study on how to use the tools.

Here's what faking the 3D with shape layers might look like:

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 5.11.15 AM.png

I've rearranged the workspace so you can see the modified and animated properties of the shape layers. Here's the AEP for the project.

Dropbox - fake 3d Triangle.aep (note: your browser may add a .txt extension to the aep file. Just delete it and you should be able to open it.

fake3d.gif

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to animate pushing in face of shape (pics)
            mbirame Level 1