9 Replies Latest reply on Sep 3, 2016 7:07 AM by Skittlepop

Planning build for 4K. New to Premiere and have questions.

Skittlepop

I've been flying drones for a couple years and now need to move up to Premiere and 4K for work purposes, so I have a budget of up to $4k for a fast PC that will have some future proofing. Up till now, I've been using GoPro Studio on a laptop. I'm pretty happy with my choice of CPU, MB (Thunderbolt board is a plus), PSU, GPU (already purchased). I'm guessing I could go with just 32GB of RAM? I'm really confused about what I need for storage. I don't want to sacrifice speed but also want to make sure I have enough room to work on large files. I think I may be overestimating how much space I need and how to best use what I have planned (Reading too much, not enough time with Premiere to know what I need). My finished projects will rarely be more than 10 minutes in length. My storage plans thus far are as follows:

C:- Samsung 850 EVO 500GB OS and frequently used programs on this drive.

E:- Samsung 950 M.2 512GB Media Cache and as a Scratch disk

F:- (Either 4TB RAID0 or 1TB SSD) Current project's Media Files and Project Files

G:- (Either 4TB RAID0 or 1TB SSD) Current project's Preview Files and Export Files

H: 6TB Standard HDD - Long term data storage.

Build:

Intel i7 6850k

Corsair H100i v2

Asus X99 Deluxe II

G.Skill Trident Z 64GB (4x16GB) DDR4-3333

C: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB

E: Samsung 950 PRO M.2 512GB

F: Either Samsung 850 EVO 1TB or (2) WD Caviar Black 2TB RAID0

G: Either Samsung 850 EVO 1TB or (2) WD Caviar Black 2TB RAID0

H: WD Black 6TB 7200rpm

Asus GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC

Fractal Design Define R5

EVGA Supernova 850W 80+ Gold

Microsoft Windows 10 Home

I'm open to all suggestions so please feel free to comment. I haven't owned a desktop in years and realize I don't know much at this point. This will be my only PC for work and some play (a few games and possibly VR).