20 Replies Latest reply on Sep 16, 2016 2:41 AM by prashantm10419319

How to call external web service in phonegap?

prashantm10419319 Level 1

Hello Guys,

I am new to Phonegap. I want to call external server side web service in my phonegap application. Actually, code is ready with AJAX and JQuery but it works with browser and Phonegap Developement App only. Means If i make a .APK file from Phonegap Build console and run on android device. It won't work means its not calling web service part.

For this problem i referred stackoverflow posts and tried different solutions but no luck. I have added solutions which i tried, please check and tell me is i did anything wrong. And also suggest some other solutions for my question. Its very urgent for me to do this. My code solutions as follows:

Solution 1:

Change config.xml file as

Add <access origin="*" /> to support for all URLs in application. And also told this is a valid solution to work. Because it gives access to all URLs, it won't restrict to any specific IP Address.

Solution 2:

Change config.xml file as

Add <access origin="http://yourserveripaddress/*" /> to call only specific IP URLs in your application. It will give access to those URLs which contains mentioned #IP Address. This is also not working in mobile app.

Solution 3:

Use .get() or .getJSON()

In some posts, they have mentioned to use .get() or .getJSON() functions in order work your application. Even this is not works for me.

Solution 4:

Use AngularJS

In order to call web service in phonegap and make workable in mobile application as native app. $http() method is used to call web service. I tried this too, added angular minified js and use $http() code with data as GET request but it works only in browser and phonegap developer app.