26 Replies Latest reply on Sep 2, 2016 7:53 AM by BarbBinder

300 Page Book

MJ4913

Hi

I am fairly new to large publications and I have a 300 page book to set.

I want to import word files into 2 columns but then some of the files have graphics which are full page width ? What are my options.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mark

• 1. Re: 300 Page Book
          MJ4913 Level 1

I can set it using separately the text and then the graphics but I wonder is there a better way to do this?

• 2. Re: 300 Page Book
            Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

You should consider to attend a basic class for InDesign.

• 3. Re: 300 Page Book
              MJ4913 Level 1

How Unhelpful.  If I could afford I would attend but circumstances say I will have to wait hence the question here. 

• 4. Re: 300 Page Book

No, I don't want to be unhelpful. But a forum cannot cover up so many issues as you have here. All are basics and you need to learn them. Without your effort no one will help you effectively.

• 5. Re: 300 Page Book

And btw a 300 page book is not a good idea for a beginner to start with InDesign. You should start with smaller publications, like flyers or other short things to learn the basic.

• 6. Re: 300 Page Book
                    MJ4913 Level 1

Well that doesn't help beginners who do not have big training budgets doe sit?  I am not exactly a beginner and I pick up quick.  Yes I do understand that a 300 page book is not ideal but it is an order I have!!

• 7. Re: 300 Page Book
                      MJ4913 Level 1

Which courses do you recommend?

• 8. Re: 300 Page Book

As I am in Germany it would not helpful for you, but I am sure, some US helpers will give you advice for Lynda.com or similar. Some are even without cost.

• 9. Re: 300 Page Book
                          MJ4913 Level 1

Ok well ill; have a look